Easy Beef Fajitas

Source: Fitness Magazine, January 2009Fajitas

I’ve always loved fajitas, and was happy when I came across this recipe.  The spices are all ones I had on hand, and work well together.  I’ve included my tweaks.

INGREDIENTS
1 Tbsp chili powder
2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/8 tsp ground cayenne
1/2 tsp salt
1 sirloin steak (about 1 pound)
1 Tbsp canola oil
1 Tbsp lime juice*
1 14-oz bag mixed bell peppers and onions (frozen)+
4 flour tortillas
1 cup salsa **
1/2 cup light sour cream
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese++
1 sliced avocado++

*I used 2-3 Tbsp lime juice
+ I used fresh 1 onion, 1 green pepper and 1 red pepper
** I left out as I hate tomatoes
++ My additions

DIRECTIONS
Combine spices and salt in small bowl; rub 1/2 the mixture on steak.
Broil steak 6-7 minutes/side. (I did 10/side)
Let sit 5 minutes; cut into thin strips.

Heat oil in non-stick skillet over medium-high.
Add vegetables, lime juice and remaining spice mixture, cook until soft. (~5-6 mins)
Warm tortillas; top each with beef, veggies, etc.
Roll closed and eat!

Leave a Reply

