Granola Cereal

Source: My friend Kristen

I have made this twice now and love having a granola cereal recipe to go with my granola bar recipe.  It is so nice to make your own granola and not have all the added sugar. Listed below is how the recipe was given to me. I’ve included how I made it.

INGREDIENTS
4 cups oats (I used old fashioned)
3 cups nuts/coconut/fruit **

** I used
1 cup raisin
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup walnut pieces

3/4 cup oil (I used 1/2 cup canola oil)
1 cup sweetener, honey/molasses (I used honey)

DIRECTIONS
Heat sweetener so it flows (about 30s in microwave).

Mix all ingredients, except for fruit.

Bake at 250-275 for 1.5-2 hours. (I found an hour at 250 worked for me).

Remove from oven, let cool. Add fruit.

2 Comments »

  1. RoxC said

    Delish! I make mine with rye flakes, shredded coconut, rolled oats, toasted bran, raw agave nectar, a bit of raw brown sugar, about 1 TB of canola oil, a pinch of cinnamon and salt. Bake at 350°F for 25 min. Then mix it up and bake for 25 min more. I transfer to a big bowl and let cool down. Then I add my dried fuits (cranberries, raisins, chopped figs, dehydrated papaya slices chopped), and slivered almonds. Super tasty and nutritious 🙂

    • Carolyn Yalin said

      I like the idea of bran and agave nectar – maybe I’ll add those to the mix. I’m also thinking of different fruits to add.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

